Search

The Exploration and Production Agreements (EPAs) signed in January 2018 between the Republic of Lebanon and Total E&P Liban s.a.l. (Right Holder Operator), Eni Lebanon B.V and Novatek Lebanon (Right Holders Non Operators), requires the consortium to timely submit several plans and programs across the value chain of petroleum activities’ development.

As part of the exploration phase, several plans have already been submitted, reviewed and approved such as:

Exploration Plans

In March 2018, the consortium submitted to the LPA the exploration plans for blocks 4 and 9 in accordance with Article 7.4 of the EPAs signed in January 2018. The exploration plans constitute steering documents describing the implementation of petroleum operations during the exploration period.

The Exploration Plans describe the scope, principles, indicative timeline and the main milestones based on which the Operator will conduct petroleum activities during the first exploration period.

The LPA reviewed the explorations plans and in May 2018 the Minister of Energy and Water approved the revised exploration plans as per the LPA’s recommendation. The approval of the exploration plans constitutes the start of the first exploration period in blocks 4 and 9.

The consortium, leveraging on the companies’ extensive experience in exploration projects, is committed to apply the highest industry standards in order to identify and drill prospects in a timely manner.

According to the exploration plans, the consortium will undertake the following activities during the first exploration period ahead of drilling in blocks 4 and 9:

  • Data reprocessing, such as evaluation, integration and mapping of all available seismic data for blocks 4 and 9.
  • Additional geological and geophysical studies and environmental surveys.
  • Completion of further studies in addition to well preparations ahead of drilling activities,

During the first exploration period the consortium is committed to drilling at least one well in block 4 followed by one well in block 9.

Annual Work Programs and Budgets

The consortium submitted the Annual Work Programs and Budgets for the years 2018, 2019 and 2020 which the LPA reviewed and approved.

The Work Program and Budget for exploration activities is prepared on a yearly basis by the Right Holders to detail the work planned to be conducted by the Operator as per the EPA.

Annual Recruitment and Training Programs

The Offshore Petroleum Resources Law (OPRL), the Petroleum Activities Regulations (PAR) and the Exploration and Production Agreements (EPA) contain provisions requiring Right Holders to develop the Lebanese local content.

Therefore the development and implementation of a training program tailored around the needs of the industry during the exploration period have been identified.

In compliance with the EPA, the consortium submitted to the LPA the Recruitment and Training Programs for 2018, 2019 and 2020 in which the Right Holders describe how they envision to undertake recruitment and training. The Recruitment and Training Programs were subsequently approved by the LPA.

In that respect, the Right Holder Operator organised several trainings for public sector personnel on topics relevant to the exploration phase such as: introduction to exploration and production, resources and reserves evaluation, upstream auditing and emergency preparedness and response. The Right Holder Operator also provided a description of upcoming operations in block 4.

The objective of these trainings is to prepare public sector personnel to undertake their duties to support the development of the petroleum sector efficiently, collaboratively and in an informed manner.

Application for Drilling Permit Submittal and Review

In compliance with Article 92 of the PAR, the consortium represented by the Right Holder Total E&P Liban s.a.l. submitted the Application of Drilling Permit (ADP) for the first exploration well (16/1) in block 4 in October 2019 to the Minister of Energy and Water with a copy to the LPA.

Such a submission is essential and must be done eight weeks prior to the planned commencement of drilling activities due in February 2020.

The ADP consists of a well designation/name proposal and a drilling program. The content of such a permit is described in Article 91 of the PAR such as information about the wells that are to be drilled, schedule for the drilling activities including date of commencement, drilling methods that will be used, the planned sequence of drilling, safety and an assessment of the potential impact on the environment within the area where drilling activities will take place, including mitigation measures.

The Minister of Energy and Water, and based on the opinion of the LPA, approved the ADP for the first exploration well in block 4 on 12 December 2019 allowing the consortium to proceed with the drilling campaign.

Back to top

بحث

عمليات القطاع

إنّ اتفاقيتي الاستكشاف والإنتاج الموقّعتين في كانون الثاني 2018 بين الدولة اللبنانية وكلّ من المشغّل شركة Total E&P Liban s.a.l. وأصحاب الحقوق شركة Eni Lebanon B.V وشركة Novatek Lebanon تفرضان على الائتلاف تقديم عدّة خطط وبرامج تشمل سلسلة القيمة لتطوير الأنشطة البترولية. :ضمن مرحلة الاستكشاف، تمّ تقديم عدّة خطط وقد جرت مراجعتها والموافقة عليها ونذكر منها

 

خطط الاستكشاف

قي آذار 2018، قدّم ائتلاف الشركات إلى هيئة إدارة قطاع البترول خطّتي الاستكشاف والإنتاج العائدتين للرقعتين 4 و9 وفقاً للمادّة 7.4 من اتفاقيتي الاستكشاف والإنتاج الموقّعتين في كانون الثاني 2018 وتتضمّن هاتان الخطّتان وصفاً لكيفية تنفيذ الأنشطة البترولية خلال مرحلة الاستكشاف.
وتشمل خطّتا الاستكشاف النطاق والمبادىء والجدول الزمني والمراحل الأساسية التي سيرتكز عليها المشغّل للقيام بالأنشطة البترولية خلال مدّة الاستكشاف الأولى.
وقد راجعت هيئة إدارة قطاع البترول خطّتي الاستكشاف وفي أيّار 2018، وافق وزير الطاقة والمياه على خطّتي الاستكشاف المعدّلتين عملاً بتوصية الهيئة. وتُشكّل هذه الموافقة بدءًا لمدّة الاستكشاف الأولى في الرقعتين 4 و9.
ويلتزم الائتلاف المكوّن من شركات ذات خبرة واسعة في مشاريع الاستكشاف بتطبيق أعلى معايير الصناعة البترولية لتحديد المكامن وحفر الآبار بأسرع وقت ممكن.
بالاستناد إلى خطّتي الاستكشاف، سيقوم الائتلاف، خلال مدّة الاستكشاف الأولى وقبل بدء الحفر في الرقعتين 4 و9، بالأنشطة التالية:
- إعادة معالجة بيانات المسوحات الزلزالية العائدة للرقعتين 4 و9 وتقويمها ودمجها وتوضيحها.
- إعداد دراسات جيولوجية وجيوفيزيائية ومسوحات بيئية.
- إتمام الدراسات الإضافية والأعمال التحضيرية قبل البدء بأنشطة الحفر.
ويلتزم الائتلاف بحفر بئر واحدة على الأقلّ في الرقعة رقم 4 ومن ثمّ في الرقعة رقم 9 خلال مدّة الاستكشاف الأولى.

برامج العمل السنوية والميزانيات

قدّم ائتلاف الشركات برامج العمل السنوية والميزانيات العائدة للسنوات 2018، 2019 و2020 وقد قامت هيئة إدارة قطاع البترول بمراجعتها والموافقة عليها. ويحضّر أصحاب الحقوق سنوياً برنامج العمل والميزانية بالنسبة لأنشطة الاستكشاف لتفصيل الأعمال المنوي القيام بها من قبل المشغّل وفقاً لاتّفاقيّة الاستكشاف والإنتاج.

برامج الاستخدام والتدريب السنوية

يتضمّن كلّ من قانون الموارد البترولية في المياه البحرية ومرسوم الأنظمة والقواعد المتعلّقة بالأنشطة البترولية واتفاقيتي الاستكشاف والإنتاج أحكاماً تفرض على أصحاب الحقوق تطوير المكوّن المحلّي اللبناني.
وقد جرى العمل على تطوير وتطبيق برنامج تدريب مصمّم خصيصاً ليتلاءم مع احتياجات الصناعة البترولية خلال مرحلة الاستكشاف.
وقدّم ائتلاف الشركات إلى هيئة إدارة قطاع البترول برامج الاستخدام والتدريب العائدة للسنوات 2018، 2019 و2020 وفقاً لاتفاقية الاستكشاف والإنتاج حيث تمّ شرح الآلية المعتمدة في الاستخدام والتدريب وقد وافقت الهيئة على هذه البرامج.
وقد نظّم المشغّل ضمن هذا الإطار عدّة ورش تدريب لموظّفي القطاع العام حول المواضيع المتعلّقة بمرحلة الاستكشاف على سبيل المثال لا الحصر: مقدّمة حول الاستكشاف والإنتاج، تقويم الموارد البترولية والاحتياطيات، تدقيق الأنشطة البترولية المتعلّقة بقطاع الاستكشاف والإنتاج ومواجهة حالات الطوارىء والاستجابة لها. كما قدّم صاحب الحق المشغّل وصفاً للأنشطة البترولية المنوي القبام بها في الرقعة رقم 4.
ويكمن الهدف من ورش التدريب في تحضير موظّفي القطاع العام للقيام بمهامهم لدعم تطوير قطاع البترول بطريقة فعّالة قائمة على المشاركة وتبادل المعرفة والخبرات.

تقديم طلب الحصول على رخصة الحفر ومراجعته

قدّم ائتلاف الشركات الممثّل بشركة Total E&P Liban s.a.l. إلى وزير الطاقة والمياه، وفقاً للمادة 92 من الأنظمة والقواعد المتعلّقة بالأنشطة البترولية، طلب الحصول على رخصة الحفر بالنسبة إلى البئر الاستشكافية الأولى (16/1) في الرقعة رقم 4 بتاريخ 4 تشرين الأول 2019.
يجب تقديم هذا الطلب الأساسي قبل ثمانية أسابيع من تاريخ البدء بأنشطة الحفر التي ستتمّ في شهر شباط 2020.
يجب أن يتضمّن طلب الحصول على رخصة الحفر تسمية البئر وبرنامج الحفر. وقد نصّت المادة 91 من الأنظمة والقواعد المتعلّقة بالأنشطة البترولية على محتوى هذا الطلب كالمعلومات حول الآبار التي سيتمّ حفرها والجدول الزمني لأنشطة الحفر بما في ذلك تاريخ البدء بالحفر والطرق المستخدمة في الحفر والمخطّط التسلسلي للحفر والتقييم البيئي داخل المنطقة التي ستجري فيها أنشطة الحفر والتدابير المتّخذة للحدّ من الأثر البيئي.
وقد وافق وزير الطاقة والمياه، بالاستناد إلى رأي الهيئة، على طلب الحصول على رخصة الحفر بالنسبة إلى البئر الاستشكافية الأولى في الرقعة رقم 4 بتاريخ 12 كانون الأول 2019، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يسمح لائتلاف الشركات بالبدء بعمليّة الحفر.

العودة إلى الأعلى